Angie

Symbol of hate for the Greek, reelected Prime Minister the umpteenth time here in Germany, regarded as the most powerful woman on earth by many, I’m in two minds about Angela Merkel.
If one looks at her and compares her recent looks to former pics, one can fathom the personal toll, her job takes on her. No one can deny, that she is most likely one of the hardest working persons on earth. I also like the unagitated way, she goes about her business. I am certainly impressed, how she manages to keep all the he-wolves in politics at bay (wish, I were able to do that in my field of work, too). And in all those years, there was never anything in her personal behaviour, that justified cause for criticism. She reminds me a little of QE II, whose public persona also extorts my respect.
But. But, but, but…
I don’t want to discuss her politics here. This is a field, one can forever disagree on. And what forms a democracy in its core. What I don’t like about Mrs. Merkel is, that she used the term “alternativlos” (meaning: there is no alternative, this is the only way, or, to say it more Glaswegian: either my way or no way!) one time too many. There is always an alternative. To everything, except to the fact, that one has to die eventually. And it is her job, to find alternatives. And then express her alternative of choice and explain, why she thinks, hers is the right choice. And if it is a good choice, majority will follow and vice versa (or so I hope).

Ironically, the lyrics to the Rolling Stones song “Angie” come to my mind now:

Angie, Angie
When will those clouds all disappear
Angie, Angie
Where will it lead us from here

With no lovin’ in our souls
And no money in our coats
You can’t say we’re satisfied
Angie, Angie
You can’t say we never tried

Angie, you’re beautiful, yeah
But ain’t it time we said goodbye

There you have it…..

One thought on “Angie

Leave a Reply

