new pets

I have new pets since last Friday. Roughly 250 animals. And I hope to have at least triple the amount come this spring. I am talking about earthworms, which I hope to be able to both breed and farm for some humus.

earthworm

Surprised?
To fill you in, I might have to explain, that during my three-year absence from blog.de, I moved from Berlin proper to suburbia, to live with my sweetheart. Thus, I also have a tiny garden, and my rural roots bled through immediately, making me a spare time farmer once more. As much as this is possible on a few square meters of land between street and flat. After three years of cultivating what little space we call ours, I was looking to capture further land last autumn. Digging up a garden plot to the side of the house, fencing the slight slope off with a little dry stone wall. But the ground I dug out was very poor, consisting mainly of building waste. Nothing can grow on such a base. So I already filled the hole with some organic matter, covered it with what little topsoil I could spare and was now looking to further improve conditions to give my new garden-project a better chance for growth this season.
Of course I consulted the omniscent internet to learn more, happened upon articles and films on earthworms and how to utilize their work. Noticing, that I have seen very few worms in my front-garden and not a single one in the new patch I just built, I decided to open up my very own livestock breeding in the cellar, to have enough animals and their product come spring to fertilize and enliven my garden.
So I prepared the three boxes my worms call home now, filling them with matter they like: moist newspaper for cellulose and some earth and put the boxes in the cellar, where it is dim but warm enough. After giving them three days to settle in, they got their first food (kitchen waste, I let pre-rot, so they can devoure it with their teethless muzzles) on Tuesday, along with a little re-damp of their dwelling by spraying water, lest they dry up.

I really do hope, the little buggers will survive and thrive until I can put them out to the big, great wilderness they originally call home. I’ll keep you posted…

Leave a Reply

