where will it go?

Yesterday at work, my CEO asked jokingly, where we should display our newly earned certificates. First I didn’t understand, as I had forgotten, that we had been handed a document at the end of our course on Saturday. I got it out of my briefcase still containing all teaching material, we’d been handed. It’s quite official looking with stamp and signature, stating that now I have been expertly advised of everything to know about food hygiene laws. I thought to maybe put it onto my fridge door at home. As soon as I’ll have gotten around to clean it out thoroughly…

My head is still busy considering all the information obtained in that course. I never knew, that spices are some of the biggest carriers of bacteria in a kitchen. As they are mostly harvested in regions of the world not exactly known for their antibacterial environment in the first place and are most often dried on the ground, exposed to everything living in the earth, walked over and shat on in the process by various animals such as chicken, mice, rats and what not. As long as they are kept dry in their containers, the exisitng bacteria can’t proliferate, but as soon as they are exposed to the usually damp kitchen air or put into foods, everything just starts to explode. Bacteria – given favourable conditions for their growth – double themselves every 20 – 40 minutes on average, so during 24 hours, a lone, single bacteria cell becomes 10 000 000 000 bacteria cells.
The finer restaurans probably consider this, when offering to add pepper directly out of the mill on the table rather than putting it in much earlier, while cooking. But then again, what good will that do, if the mill sits next to the kitchen door on a plate to be handed around for weeks on end…

gewuerze

2 thoughts on “where will it go?

  1. That’s it. Between the oyster thing and the moth thing and now the spice thing, I am now going to simply remove everthing edible from my kitchen.

    So the answer to your question “Where will it go?” is “the compost pile”.

    Any news on canned foods and frozen pizzas?

    Like

    1. as far as I know, canned food is fine (provided, the can stays closed, I guess). Same goes for frozen pizza (again provided, the cold chain was never interrupted for any longer than 15 min.) Pizza (as most food) is also fine, as soon as it is thoroughly cooked, though, as bacteria and the like are not too well off if fried or baked. Heat anything above 70° C for 10 or 95° C for six, seven minutes (core temperature and alas, the buggers are dead!
      Most bacteria thrive from 7°C – 65°C, other temperatures are not so good for them.

      btw, as there are worms in almost every fish muscle tissue (90%+ of all fish, but they die, if cooked properly, too,) all fish for Sushi purposes needs to be deep frozen for at least a day (if I remember correctly) by law, in order to kill the worms in the meat later consumed raw.
      Promise, this was it, as far as I care to remember from last Saturday. And I still never did any cleaning since… Who is the perfect Hausfrau here?

      Like

Leave a Reply

