Good bye

Floatsome is the old way of spelling the English term flotsam (there we go: early 19th century, yep). Here’s Merriam-Webster’s definition of:

flot·sam
1
: floating wreckage of a ship or its cargo; broadly : floating debris
2
a : a floating population (as of emigrants or castaways) “human flotsam”
b : miscellaneous or unimportant material “a notebook filled with flotsam and jetsam”
c : debris, remains “the village … built on the flotsam of war — Stan Sesser”

I started out with this blog pretty much exactly three years ago and looking back, the title is quite befitting its content and its scribe.
For too long I lived under the impression, my life is a result of circumstance and other people’s decisions. I was merely going with the flow or bending to pressure and/or outward criteria. Victimhood can be a convenient way of life. However, recently life presented me with a choice that would inevitably produce victims other than me. And this time there was no pressure in either way. Just love and kindness directed at me from all around. Mind you: even after I have trashed and shattered every dish in the cupboard, so to speak. Seems, I was looking again for someone else to decide this for me, rather than doing it myself. This is the greatest gift of all: freedom to make up your own mind. Having kept my best friend’s advice in mind, to set aside the concerns of those involved and just think about what life I would want, I did just that. It’s time for me to reach the shore. And I’ve been offered a save haven, too. As soon as I made my choice, my sweetheart gave me much more than I ever dreamt of. Land underfoot, I can now go and build a home and family with him. The god I don’t believe in can be gracious, too.

To you – the unknown cyberlot , who peeked into this blog or even followed it for a while: thanks for stopping by, thank you for caring and helping out with your comments. Have a good time.
This was it from me and I’ll let someone else have the last word on it:

The end
A completely stressed but happy man got back his a bit childish, a bit too fat, sometimes loudly snoring lovely woman and he grew some extra gray hair. Love is a strong thing and even can help to find a way out of a disaster. One of his terms to take her back was to shut down this blog for a while, which he took note of just two weeks ago, although he was a part of it for three years.
Why that term?
To write about yourself and publish it, can be dangerous. Some things you write will be unconsciously a small step beside the truth, because you want to look smart, intelligent and interesting for your readers. You´ll even describe your weaknesses in a way that makes you likeable. Slowly an artificial alter ego develops with a life of its own, and you think it´s yours. You might even fall in love with your own alter ego, although it shows some attributes of a character from a trivial novel of the 19th century.
Writing about yourself is not a method to solve your problems. But it can be an excellent tool to collect your thoughts, give them a structure and fix your interim position. If you have done the work don´t publish it, have a little faith, show it to your partner and start to talk.

Stop blogging, start living.

Sweetheart

John Hiatt, Have a little faith in me

When the road gets dark
And you can no longer see
just let my love throw a spark
And have a little faith in me
And when the tears you cry
Are all you can believe
Just give these loving arms a try
And have a little faith in me
And have a little faith in me
….
When your secret heart
Cannot speak so easily
Come here darlin’
From a whisper start
To have a little faith in me
And when your back’s against the wall
Just turn around and you will see
I will catch, I will catch your fall baby
Just have a little faith in me
Well, I’ve been loving you for such a long time girl
Expecting nothing in return
Just for you to have a little faith in me
You see time, time is our friend
Cause for us there is no end
And all you gotta do is have a little faith in me
I said I will hold you up, I will hold you up
your love gives me strength enough
So have a little faith in me

4 thoughts on “Good bye

  1. klar lebt es sich auch ohne bloggen – aber manchmal… ist es halt auch… befreiend. oder so. oder sonstwas.

    bin ich im blog ein anderer mensch als im rl? gute frage. kann mensch selbst schlecht beurteilen. ich glaubs aber eigentlich nicht. naja, ich schreib ja auch nicht mehr viel.

    ach fuck, irgendwie hauen alle ab. das ist doof. menno.:(

    wie dem auch sei, sagen wir´s mit erdinger weißbier: gute reise!

    Like

  2. Alles Gute…

    Ich verstehe dein English so schlecht und
    das gefühl kann ja so schlecht übersetzen….
    wenn da nicht auch noch die Musik wäre….

    Vielleicht hört man sich ja mal wieder….

    Danke &

    Alles Gute Dir….

    L.G. Mutist-II

    Like

Leave a Reply

