surprise visit

Yesterday, a guy who used to be my husbands best friend some 20 years ago, showed up at my office for a surprise visit. I think the last time I saw him was in 1999. All I have heard of him since is, that he runs the golf shop in Carnoustie, Scotland. So I wasn’t exactly expecting him to pop in, to say the least. Anyways, as he was in Berlin on business with a partner, he thought it a good idea to meet up. Which we did. We had a good night out on the town, talking about old times. As we also worked together for a while, lots and lots of already forgotten incidents and people came back to mind. It is amazing, how much one remembers suddenly, if one meets somebody from the past again. All in all, the boy didn’t change all that much. Still funny. Still able to quote every single line out of Fawlty Towers. And still drinking vast amounts of beer. I have to admit that I had one drink too many, too. A mistake severly paid for today. I haven’t felt that hung over in a very long while.

Leave a Reply

