other jewels

No amber but plenty of other jewels I found on the amber coast of Wolin island in Poland. First and foremost I met lots of nice people from all over Europe. Funnily enough, most of the people – some 240 all together – were Austrians. It was weird to be sorrounded by the familiar accent, mainly originated in and around Vienna – once again. And second, the countryside is lovely. The coast itself bore no amber for me, but to be honest, I didn’t spend all that much time searching. But the woods were of an amber shade of gold, what with the wheather being mostly brilliant, although rather chilly. And the golf course was a gem in itself. A little soggy still, after all this summers heavy rainfall, but a very pleasant surprise, nevertheless. I love birches – I think I did already mention that in an earlier entry – and birches they have plenty. At one point I was even in the painting by Klimt, autumn birches, be that because of the actual resemblance or because I just posted this picture recently. I will tell you more about the event itself and the people I met some other time. For now, I’ll just share a few impressions of the golf site.

003

009

019

027

033

006

8 thoughts on “other jewels

  1. Ich kenne mich ja überhaupt nicht in Golf aus, aber ich fahre einen. Und wenn ich diese Plätze sehe, muss ich erstens an meine letzte Wintertour durch Andalusien denken und zweitens an den Film “Falling Down”. God bless Michael Douglas.

    Ach ja, und Birken gelten bei Forstwirten ja als das Unkraut des Waldes und verdienen schon allein dafür jegliche Sympathie.

    Like

      1. Jepp, da zieht er doch mit seiner Tasche voll Schießgerät über solch einen Platz und bekommt einen Ball an den Nischel. Fand er nicht gut. Und Andalusien: Ein Platz am anderen, die einzig irgendwie belebten Orte in diesen gespenstisch winterruhenden Ferienarealen. Die Hölle.

        Like

      2. Die Szene hab ich wohl aktiv verdrängt. Und ganz so verteufelnswert ist Golf dann auch wieder nicht. Man muss es nicht mögen. Man kann es nie können. Aber neben der Tatsache, dass ich den ursprünglichen spirit of the game sehr liebe, ist es auch so, dass etliche Leute damit ihren Lebensunterhalt verdienen. Ick ooch.

        Like

      3. Nee, “die Hölle” war ja auf die verlassenen Ferien-Domizile gemünzt. Obwohl es sicher auch im Sommer brutal dort sein muss. Gesichtslose Massenunterbringung, den Vergleich zu bestimmten Lagern in der jüngeren deutschen Geschichte möchte ich jetzt nicht bringen. Und da waren die Golfplätze – mit ihrem auch im Winter regen Publikum – für den Wandersmann eben die Oasen in der Wüste.

        Puh, hoffe, ich hab mich da jetzt wieder rausgewunden. Ick hab nüscht gegen Golf.

        Like

Leave a Reply

